Bali “The Dewata Island”

Hey there!
As I promised, today (even it is late, I know) I am going to show you one of the world’s beautiful island in my country : BALI! Yeay🙂
I’m going to tell you about my 5 days visit to Bali like my journal but don’t worry, I’m going to emphasise Bali, not my personal trip.

Okay, to make it short, let’s start!

BALI.
It is an island in Indonesia. Located in the east of Java and the west of Lombok Island. It’s very beautiful and exotic. Their Hinduism traditions are still strong. Bali is usually called as The Dewata Island (The Island of Gods) and The Island of Thousand Temples. Those are true, because you’ll find a small temple to pray everywhere.

Day 1 : Monday, June 17th 2013

I went to Bali from Jogja by bus. It was a long journey and unimportant, so let’s skip to the next day!

Day 2 : Tuesday, June 18th 2013

Ketapang Pier is in East Java which is the only way for us to  go to Bali if we are using land transportations. I took some pictures while I’m in Ketapang that midnight and when I crossed to Bali.

P1040400 P1040403 P1040412

After I arrived at Bali and having a long journey to the city, I arrived at Bratan Bedugul Lake. It’s a lovely lake which is totally Bali, but unfortunately, it’s located a little remote. Because it’s remote area, Bratan Bedugul Lake only have a hotel, restaurant, and a few traditional market around there, so to be honest, it’s kinda boring there.

P1040416 P1040432P1040435

From Bratan Bedugul Lake, I went to Kuta Beach. That is the most famous beach in Bali among the tourists. It has white sands and the villagers near there also let us rent surfing boards. Not just the beach which is beautiful, but the beach surroundings are very nice. It is a beautiful mix of Indonesian heritage and modern places. You can find a lot of famous brand stores there such as Hard Rock Cafe, etc. Joger, a famous Bali souvenirs brand also have a store near Kuta Beach.

P1040448

The sunset view at Kuta Beach

P1040459 P1040460 P1040461 P1040462

Aaand after I went to Kuta Beach and Joger, I went to a restaurant to have dinner and then I went to the hotel to have some rest.

Day 3 : Wednesday, June 19th 2013

The next morning, I went to Sanur Beach. Tourists usually go to this beach to see the sunrise because this beach offers the best sunrise view in Bali. Sanur Beach is also located a little remote, and there’s nothing here except a beach, a restaurant, and some shops.

P1040479 P1040492 P1040496 P1040498

After that, we went to one of Indonesia’s president’s castle named Tampaksiring Castle. It is located in a hill and far from the city. Tampaksiring Castle is usually used by the president family. It is built by Indonesia’s first president, Soekarno, so that the next Indonesia’s president will have a place to rest and greet international guests in a quiet and peaceful place far from the city. If you want to go in there, you must made an appointment first.

P1040553

The Bridge of Peace inside Tampaksiring Castle

P1040549

A pond where the late President Soekarno found inspirations to lead the country

P1040506

The main gate of Tampaksiring Castle

P1040568

Me in the president and the ministers meeting room

P1040521 P1040555

Then I continued my journey. I went to Tanjung Benoa Beach and Garuda Wisnu Kencana. Tanjung Benoa Beach is a beach where you can play a lot of water games such as banana boat, etc.

P1040581 P1040592

Garuda Wisnu Kencana is a place where you can watch Barong Dance. There are also a massive statue of Wisnu (one of Hindu’s god) who ride a bird named Garuda. The statue’s construction hasn’t finished yet but I’ll show you some of the parts.

P1040616

A Balinese dance called Kecak Dance performed in GWK’s Amphitheatre

P1040631

Bali’s beautiful dancers

P1040639

The Garuda statue

And then I went back to the hotel after I had dinner in a local restaurant.

Day 4 : Thursday, June 20th 2013

Technically, that was my last day in Bali. After I ate breakfast and check out, I headed to Gilimanuk Pier. But on the journey, I stopped at one of Bali’s beautiful beaches : Tanah Lot!

What’s so special about Tanah Lot? There’s an island near Tanah Lot which can only be accessed if the sea level is low. When the sea level is low, you can go to the island. In the island, there’s a restaurant and a pura, a place for Hindu people to pray. I have gone to Tanah Lot twice and I have never got the chance to go to the island😦

And on the beach, there’s a cave where there’s a holy snake. People in Bali believe that if we touch that snake, everything that we want will be granted.

P1040643 P1040645 P1040648 P1040649 P1040652 P1040653

That’s all for my Bali trip journal!🙂

Sorry I’m very late to post this journey (I promised to post it Saturday but I’m able to post it just now) because I got some health problems which fortunately weren’t serious at all (just a weird feeling like a headache) and I had a bad mood for several days.

I show you this pics and this doesn’t mean that I want to show off. I just want to share my experience. And I hope that if you visit Bali one day, at least you know fascinating place to go and sight to see!

Leave a Reply

