Calligraphy from Javanese Alphabet

Hey!
What’s up?

Today, I’d like to tell you about Javanese alphabet! #hurray🙄

First of all, you must know where Java is. Java is an island located in Indonesia (of course you do know where’s Indonesia, right? or, should I tell you? just kidding😀 ). Java is the economic and political centre of Indonesia, and there are a lot of people lives there, including me. The capitol city of Indonesia is located here too, Jakarta.

Java is an island full of cultural heritage. Our pasts gives us so many things to learn, or to visit, or to observe, and much more. One of  those are Javanese language and Javanese alphabet. Javanese language and Javanese alphabet are always connected, so I should tell you too about the Javanese language.

Javanese language is used by nearly all of the people in Java. It’s hard to learn, but you’ll get it easy when you’ve mastered it once. Javanese language usually used for politeness in Java.

Javanese language do has its alphabet. It’s called Aksara Jawa. There’s 20 letters :

Those letters has meanings too :

Ha Na Ca Ra Ka means There’s two representative.
Da Ta Sa Wa La means They’re fighting.
Pa Dha Ja Ya Nya means They have a same power.
Ma Ga Ba Tha Nga means They dies together.

Okay, now lets get to the point of my post this time.

A few weeks ago, my Javanese language teacher gives us a homework. We must drew a calligraphy that made of some Javanese alphabet. There’s someone who drew cartoons or logos and much more. And.. I drew a sight of the night sky with the moon and the clouds. Take a look🙂

My Javanese Alphabet Calligraphy !🙂

What do you think? It’s not my best, but.. I’m quite proud of it. Wanna visit Indonesia and try to make it?😉

4 thoughts on “Calligraphy from Javanese Alphabet

  1. Hello, Alima! I am a student of The University of Missouri–St. Louis studying anthropology. I am doing a presentation on Javanese for my linguistic anthropology class. I love your blog! The image above will be very helpful in my presentation! Also, I found a site that may interest you since I see you like educating the world on your lovely language and culture. Best wishes to you, and may all your dreams come true!

    http://mylanguages.org/javanese_words.php

    • Hello Sarah!
      Thank you for visiting and loving my blog!

      I am so glad that you’re doing a presentation about Javanese culture in your linguistic anthropology class! Java and Javanese do has a lot of things to explore and explain. Which part of Javanese that you study for your presentation? I think I can help you if you needs help. Have you ever visited Java Island? You should try to visit it sometimes. It’s so interesting and full of things to explore!

      Thanks for the link and your wishes!
      Best wishes too to you and your presentation task🙂

Leave a Reply

